Slambook

Slambook….after so many years, I remember this…I never got a chance to be in someones slambook, but it was something very hot in my school days. Usually, it was as self decorated book having different sections like we have on Orkut, except that we had to manually fill it in our own handwriting. Bad handwriting wasent allowed and the system was ultra secret. It was meant to be an exclusive girl-to-girl communication system. Boys werent allowed nearby, but I confess that I had once stolen a slambook out of pure curiosity, just to get details of what happens in there. It was luck, but peeping in someones property is equivalent of stealing…Later I meekly returned that book, the girl was shocked..!! She said – ‘Did you read this??’ I said – ‘No, why should I?’ I lied, I know, but I read everything, everything that was supposed to be a secret away from most of boys reach.

Some interesting stuff I remember was

1. The address and phone number – Every girl jotted down her phone number and postal address. In those days cellular phones were non existant and pagers were ultra cool. It was of no great use to me, I did not have a landline number, and the line I used for speaking would be heavily monitored. Besides, I was too lazy to move around on a cranky bicycle hunting for the girls address.

2. Likes – It was default that a girl likes ice cream and black forest. For a long time, I didnt know what black forest meant until someone fed me a delicious combination of chocolate, cake, coffee, ice cream, then I realized its a yummy thing…and since then, its my favourite till date.

3. Favourite colour – Insignificant detail, but pink was common..We dont have this on Orkut😛

4. Favourite film – Most of them mentioned Hollywood stuff. I wasent permitted to see any Hollywood film(officially) till I  became 18. Unofficially, I watched many Hollywood movies, and my parents dont know that😉 Never knew why girls liked Tom Cruise. I liked his mission impossible 2 movie, because I was facinated by the bikes in it, not the heroine.

5. Every girl tried to decorate her slam content as good as possible. (I recall, my drawing belonged to the genre of Mr Pablo Picasso. Ultra Modern, abstract, and complex, my teacher once mocked me that you will be the next Picasso of India.She was rude..I didnt like that joke)

Today, I am riding on the messeges sent by Gods of Technology, as if I am from other galaxy, or an Almighty, but innocence is what I want. Those were the best days of my life…Sweet and innocent. Free from complexities of all this world..Todays kids arent so lucky..They have got everything, but the charm of a naive and raw life is unknown to them..Today we have got Orkut, Facebook, Myspace, theres even one online virtual site, but that beautiful handwritten slambook remains an eluded teen age dream…nostologia peheps..