Party – I am the Times person of the year.

I am pleased to be selected as the person of the year – 2006 by the world famous Times Magazine. Read it as ‘face of the year‘ or ‘mug of the year‘, or ‘eyes of the year‘ because, the moment you look at the front cover, you notice that a strange pair of eyes stare at you. Lo..interestingly, they belong to you. I think that proof is enough to get convinced that you have been selected as the person of the year for 2006.

Interesting deal. I suspect that there were either too many contenders for this post(ranging from my grumpy professor, Dubya Bush, our local news paper agent to Osama, Osamas cook, the toilet cleaner of UN generel assembly or the pet dog of Zambias chief district magistrate. Depends.) or probably Times thought that now is the time to accept that Web 2.0 is far more superior then conventional paperback or web 1.0 web contents, in terms of public feedback and flexibility, and more importantly – Trust.

Yet another example of marketing strategy overtaking technology. Prior of getting selected as Person of the Year, I didnt know that a thing like Times exist😉 . I accept that its a part of my ignorance towards paper media, but still..Times sales might have doubled or tripled once they announced this historic decision. Maybe its ‘time’ that others too take a notice of this.

Meanwhile – Long live Web 2.0 !!!